jump to navigation

New studies May 15, 2006

Posted by eric22222 in Deep Thoughts, General.
trackback

Currently listening to: “Wherever You Are” by Third Day

My great-grandmother passed away on Sunday. It wasn’t to much of a stab in the face; her mind has been going for some time now. She would ask me several times per visit what grade I was in. Tomorrow’s the funeral, so we’ll be leaving for Dancyville early in the morning.

This event has gotten me thinking, though. Mostly about the soul. This semester at Knoxville, we had a series of lessons on Heaven. Looking at certain parts of the Bible, we tried to piece together how some of our preconceptions are definately wrong, how some may be wrong, how some may be right, and how some are definately right. Anyway, I’ve been thinking about my own preconception that I’d always had, which was that we would pretty much look human in Heaven (if maybe less opaque) but our mind would be the same. I think this probably comes from the fact that the mind (thought, memories, etc) is the most concrete thing we can see about ourselves. But through thinking about my late great-grandmother (among others) I’m beginning to get this idea of three parts to the self: the physical, mental, and spiritual; that is, body, mind, and soul. This has been my latest study, and the subject of a great deal of personal research. I had some information I was hoping to dig up, but I left all my notes from my philosophy class in Knoxville.

Basically, I’m still trying to think of how it will be, in regards to what part of us is eternal…

Anyway, just thought I’d let you guys know where my studies are leading. As always, comments welcome. Let me know what you think about this idea.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

