jump to navigation

At Vanderbilt August 10, 2006

Posted by eric22222 in General.
trackback

Currently listening to: “Wait” by By the Tree

Well, here we are at Vanderbilt Children’s Hospital. It seems Ashley was having a few unexpected reactions to some of the treatments. Her Pancreas stopped producing those useful little enzymes that break down fats and proteins. We went to the hospital on Tuesday to get her checked out. They examined her, bombarded her with a few x-rays, and found the problem. Mom has stayed here at the hospital for the past two nights. I’ve gone home at night and brought back food and other stuff for Ashley and Mom. Tonight is a change of pace. Due to some pretty heavy rain in the Nashville area, I’m just gonna stay here tonight. It’s a pretty long drive back to Gallatin, and I’d rather not go on a dark and stormy night. Nothing good ever happens on a dark and stormy night. Besides, I would’ve come back tomorrow anyway. I think it’ll be good to keep Ashley and Mom company tonight, though I feel kind of sorry for Dad; having to stay at home all by himself…

Of course I have plenty to do. I’ve brought my Nintendo DS with Metroid Prime. I’ve beaten the game, though not with 100% completion. I also brought some pencils and paper to sketch out some concept art for Adam’s and my game. That’ll also let me write down some notes for Sunday night. I’m going to be reporting to HPCC on my trip to Malaysia. I won’t be able to use as many pictures as I would’ve liked since my computer is being repaired… Luckily there are plenty online.

One other cool thing I have to pass the time is a new game I found online. Battle for Wesnoth is a fantasy era real-time strategy game. It’s based on a hexagonal grid, which is a break from the ordinary grids. There are a ton of different units, somewhere around 200. The cool thing is that each one has slightly different stats the the others of the same type. That is, if you recruit two of the same unit, one might be faster and the other might be stronger. Each unit is given a randomly generated name, and you have the option to recall units from previous missions. Units are able to gain experience and levels, so that adds a bit of strategy. There are plenty of user-generated content, so no shortage of campaigns. RTS fans should check it out.

I thought about posting one of my Photoshop projects, but realized they’re on my computer… I’ll consider that link to Wesnoth my substance for this post.

Oh, and since no one has figured it out yet, the acrostic instructions are as follows: use the first letter of the artist on the songs I was “currently listening to” in all the posts under general. For example, today’s letter would be “B” if it were part of the acrostic. But it isn’t. Only the posts from November 4th, 2005 to July 31, 2006.

That’s more substance, right?

Comments»

1. Heather - August 11, 2006

Hey! Thanks for updating so that I have something to read while not being able to sleep. The storms have been pretty crazy and pretty cool here in Nashville today. I’ll be keeping Ashley in my prayers. I hope you have a good night.

2. Sara - August 14, 2006

I’m sort of out-of-touch with what your post is about exactly (i don’t really read other’s blogs very often), but it caught my eye about the children’s hospital. I hope everything’s goes ok. Children’s hospitals are great places. Certainly much better than the other creepy hospitals..

As far as websites go, yeah I hear Dreamweaver’s a really great (albeit complicated but great) program. I used Frontpage for a while. Couldn’t understand a thing.. but I think that’s because I have the attention span of a gnat.. Anyway. I think I remember that once you mentioned wanting a program that allowed you to mold 3D objects like clay. I actually have a program like that calld Amorphous. I found it while cleaning a bunch of junk out of my room. It’s outdated and useless really, but if you want it I’ll give it to you. It’s just collecting dust here. Drop me an e-mail before the end of the week if you do. Other than that, hopefully I’ll see you in a week!

3. tammy - August 14, 2006

It all started on a dark and stormy night…yeah lot of scary stories start with that line. I really do hope Ashely is doing better today. I’m also sorry your computer is in the shop.

4. sabrina - August 22, 2006

So wait… I’m confused. Your post from about 3 weeks ago talked all about Garth doing this benefit show. Was that not true?


Leave a Reply

