jump to navigation

The Pain Of Yard Work September 2, 2006

Posted by eric22222 in General, Personal Favorites.
trackback

Currently listening to: “Until The World” by The Afters

Guess it’s been a while, huh? Let’s see, where to start…

Today is UT’s first football game, so I’m thinking it’ll be impossible to get to campus. Instead, we celebrate with Redbud Lawn Mowing Day. Things were moving along quite well. I was minding my own business, cutting the grass. I’d even go so far as to say I was doing a good job. Then I felt this pain in my leg. I looked at my jeans and passed it off as a rogue piece of grass, shooting out of the mower, avenging its fallen brethren. I kept mowing and felt it again. Finally, I just rolled up my jeans to take a look. Lo and behold, a yellowjacket had found its way into my pants. Yes, you read that right. He didn’t move around much, so I inched my hand closer and flicked him off. I went inside for a second to wash off the wound with some cold water.

Feeling a great sense of accomplishment, I went back outside to complete my ordained duty. I continued trimming the grass, giving it a near-putting-green look. That good. There was still one corner of the front lawn left, so I began heading for it. Halfway across the lawn, I felt an all-too-familiar stinging sensation. Looking at my arm, I saw that another yellowjacket had gotten me (this one in a more accessible limb). This one hurt just a little bit more, so I proceeded to jump up and down while slapping my arm. Jason, who was using the string trimmer (or weedwhacker) looked on from across the lawn. I regained my cool, gave him a thumbs up, and resumed my fit of slapping and yelling. This guy had left his stinger in my arm, so I pulled it out on my way inside.

I ran the wound under cold water, gritting my teeth and decided how to get my revenge at waspkind. I wrapped a paper towel around my arm and held it tightly. Jason, who we’ll refer to as The Doctor from now on, got out his first aid kit. He handed me something to wash off the sting with, and then put on one of those tiny bandages. No lollipop, though. Over the next hour, it continued to swell slightly and sting. That’s where we are now; typing with one hand.

Last night was much better. We had the second annual CSC scavenger hunt devo. Last year’s was fun, but I think this year was better. No list of the items with me, sorry, but I’m sure Justin will post the pictures onto the CSC photo gallery soon.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

