jump to navigation

Game update December 14, 2006

Posted by eric22222 in Game Development, General.
trackback

Well, I’m about to head back home. Seems like a good opportunity for an update.

I finished that book the day after I started reading it. Another good read.

Adam and I did an intense session of coding and graphical work last night. We’ve finally started adding enemies to the game, and the physics are starting to come together nicely. Next on my list is to code up something that will make enemies kind of collapse when they’re hit instead of just disappearing. In addition, we’ve set a goal: the end of next semester. This is probably a crazy aspiration, but technically, we could accomplish that. It’ll take some work, but we’re committed to this game. It’s that good. No, you can’t see any screenshots. You have to see the game in action. You have to see it move to really feel the game. So… no screen shots.

After fixing the enemy thing, I’ll probably just work on expanding the desert map, putting more play variety into it. I’ve finally started adding some secret areas to the game. Places you don’t have to go, but it’d be worth the detour to check out.

Music is sounding pretty good. You can listen to it repeating in the background 20 times and not be annoyed by it. And it gets stuck in your head. Adam says those are the two qualifications for vg music. Well, he likes the music, I like the graphics, its a good partnership.

Guess I’ll be able to get a lot of work done over break. Hopefully I won’t burn out on it, though. Gotta watch out for that. If it becomes a chore, my quality of work just goes down the drain.

Comments»

1. tammy - December 15, 2006

Sounds good to me. But don’t spend all your time on the game, acctually take a break! 🙂
See Ya Soon!!!

2. Eric - December 15, 2006

Hey, staring at lines of code and tweaking things until they work, I call that a break.


Leave a Reply

