jump to navigation

Uncomfortable May 9, 2007

Posted by eric22222 in General.
trackback

I’m back in Gallatin…

Wish I wasn’t. There’s a lot of… family issues going on. Yeah, my dad’s made some mistakes, but you know what? So have the other six billion people. We’re all under the same condemnation.

Now everybody hates each other. I feel like I’m some sort of bridge, spanning this massive canyon between my dad and my mom/sister. Only I think I’m being viewed more as a double agent. That somehow by loving one side, I’m forbidden to love the other.

Not just immediate family anymore, either. Now the uncles and aunts and grandparents are all taking up arms, pointing blame at the opposite side. And then there’s me. Somewhere in the middle of a hige battle, refusing to fight back.

I don’t want any if this. But I guess God’s got a plan…

Comments»

1. The Matt Luc - May 9, 2007

I know the feeling bro… I’ve had to do it several times before. It makes you question the sanity of mankind as a whole and sometimes even whether God knows what he’s doing. Its important to stay strong and level-headed, though, and sometimes it just helps to talk to someone.

2. crittermer - May 10, 2007

Man, Eric, just reading that brings hurt to my heart. I’m so sorry. Know that I’m praying for you and your family and for healing/restoration for everybody. Much Love, Mer

3. Tammy - May 12, 2007

Wow. No one should have to come home to something like that. I know you love your family and that they love you too. God always has a plan for such things and since your family are christians you should all look to God for the answer. I don’t know if you are interested, but Bro. Ben Roberts is a professional family and marriage counsilor at my congeragation and he has devoted his life to helping not only non-christians, but christians too. Just an option. You should not have to take on the responsibilty of patching this all up by yourself and you don’t have to. Know that I’m praying for you and yours always.

4. Aunt Amy - May 13, 2007

Eric,
Know that whatever happens between your parents is something they will have to work out. We all love you, all of you. Tom and I have tried to stay out of it all as well as Mark. We obviously have tried to be supportive of Ty because he does not have any other support. Under the circumstances he has done quite well. Thank you for being so supportive of him and telling him you loved him. He needed that. Tom and I want you to know we are here for you always. We are here also for Donna and Ashley. We have no control over what other people do. God tells us that everything will work the way he wills. Your faith will get you through this and every other trial that you go through – trust me, there will be many more during your lifetime.
I know it seems as though some are “taking up arms” as you mentioned, but that is not the case. At least each time I have spoken to Mark or Dad, and certainly the two of us, we all just want this to be peaceful. Unfortunately, there can only be as much peace as each party is willing to give. It has to be from both. That will be up to your parents.
You do not have to choose sides. As a parent, I know there is nothing Phillip could ever do that would make me not love him or want to be part of his life. That is unconditional love. Which is what God has for us and what parents (should) have for their children. We may be disappointed for decisions they CHOOSE to make, but that is because it hurts to see your child make mistakes. Just like it hurts when God sees us choosing poorly. You are not forbidden to love anyone. I can’t imagine what you have been going through. Unfortunately, I am afraid you are the one most impacted by this and you are innocent and unbiased.
Our door is always open. My home # is [redacted], cell is [redacted]. You are welcome to call, come stay, anything you want. Same for Ashley.
I spoke to Donna and Ashley both when this started and we have had no harsh words. I hope they know we love them.
We love you.


Leave a Reply

