jump to navigation

Temporary Deafness June 1, 2007

Posted by eric22222 in General.
trackback

How ’bout a little anecdote? Yesterday, I was cleaning my ear out, when the unexpected happened: I suddenly couldn’t hear through my left ear. “Well, that’s odd,” I thought. I did the only thing I could think of: grab another Q-tip and keep swabbing. Alas, my efforts did no good. I tried a few other ideas, such as angling my head perfectly beneath the bathtub faucet. Unfortunately, not even flooding my ear did any good. I spent the rest of the day half-deaf.

That night was the Man/Woman of the Year dealie for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society. Ashley was being honored as the Girl of the Year. It was a pretty boring night, but I got through it.

This morning, I went to the doctor to see about that whole partial hearing impairment. They tried a few different methods, eventually pumping water in my ear at high pressure. I honestly felt like the water was trying to shoot out my eye. Finally, a big ole’ blob of dark ear wax washed out. I had to hop on one foot until the leftover water fell out. Hooray! I could hear again! I mean, I could hear well again. The end.

Comments»

1. zach - June 2, 2007

Man what drama!! That is exactly why I can’t stand earwax…


Leave a Reply

