jump to navigation

Tetris! July 31, 2007

Posted by eric22222 in General, Personal Favorites, Video Games.
trackback

It’s been a while since I’ve been really excited about a project. This is one of those times. Brace yourself… for awesome.

It was last week that I first saw my new apartment. After moving a lot of furniture and books in, I noticed that it didn’t meet all my needs; whereas Redbud had a built-in bookcase, the apartment had none. That doesn’t work out for a guy with a lot of books. What was I to do? I ask you not for an answer, but for drama. Well, spending a lot of time in the Internet, I’ve seen amazing ideas. One seemed to suit my situation perfectly: a series of shelves shaped like tetroids (Tetris pieces). I searched for the page I had found months earlier. I found it, but had hit a snag: the price tag. I’ll admit, the bookcase was high-quality, but not 2 grand-good. I decided I’d make my own.

Those who know me personally will know that I can do just about anything, with an average amount of skill. “Jack of all trades, master of none.” However, carpentry is one in which I had no experience. Bah, details, details. How hard could it be? I drew up the pieces and figured up how much lumber I’d need. I drove off to Home Depot and got 50 feet of wooden planks. I also picked up some stain; if I’m going to learn carpentry, I may as well learn it well. Total, it set me back about $75, which means I’m saving $1925. Sounds like a deal to me! I started yesterday, cutting the boards to length with little trouble (I still have all my fingers). After a total of seven hours of work, I had nailed all the shapes together. Today, I picked up with gluing. I needed to make sure everything was going to stay put. This needs to hold books and such, after all. When I was sure the glue had dried, Ashley and I sanded the pieces smooth. Afterwards, we got to staining the wood, giving it that rich look that furniture always has.

So, what did a total of 12 hours of work and $75 get me? This:

100_2358.jpg

(click for full size)

The only problem is that when you put too many in a row, they disappear. Gotta be careful with that.

Also, I’ve learned to play the Tetris theme song on piano. Seemed appropriate.

Comments»

1. citizen j - August 6, 2007

Dude. That RULEZ!!!!


Leave a Reply

