jump to navigation

It’s Friday night… October 19, 2007

Posted by eric22222 in General, Video Games.
trackback

…and I’m writing code. I seriously need to get a life that doesn’t rely so heavily on responsibility.

School and work are both going well, with everything else either falling between bad and acceptable or just being unknown.

I bought a new video game for the first time in a while. The Orange Box was released last week, as a great bargain. It’s a collection of five video games: Half-Life 2, Half Life 2: Episodes 1 and 2, Team Fortress 2, and Portal. I was mostly looking forward to the small puzzle game Portal, but it requires twice as much memory as does the Half-Life series, so I won’t be enjoying it until I get some more RAM.

I’m surprised I never mentioned Portal here before, but it’s an amazing concept. It’s difficult to describe, so just imagine portable wormholes and you aren’t far off. This trailer might help explain what’s going on, but it’s pretty disorienting after a while.

Half-Life has been enjoyable, though I’m barely an hour into it. How’s this for an unlikely hero: a theoretical physicist. The story is playing out well, and is seamlessly fused with gameplay. Not to mention it has a great physics engine.

Also: Mozart vs James Bond

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

