jump to navigation

Smashing! March 10, 2008

Posted by eric22222 in General, Video Games.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

(Session 32 is up)

Super Smash Bros Brawl is officially out, and officially awesome. This game marks two firsts for me: one, it’s the first game that I bought at a midnight release. Mike and I met at Wal-Mart (since gaming stores would have been packed) around 10:30 and hung out until midnight. We were the first ones there, and watched a small crowd grow until midnight. We had some conversations with the other gamers, discussing what awesomeness the game would hold for us. Finally, they brought out the box of games. We were a bit surprised to find they only had twenty, but the population of our small crowd was only eighteen, so everyone got one.

The second way in which this game is a first for me is that it’s the first game I played before the release. Friday night, BJ, a friend from work whose gaming knowledge rivals my own, invited me to his apartment to play Super Smash Bros Melee, which has been out for years now. About eight people showed up, some of which competed in Melee tournaments. Still, I was able to compete with them, and even won a match (though I did employ some pretty cheap tactics). About halfway through the night, BJ informed us that Melee wasn’t the only game scheduled for the party. At this, one of the attendees, apparently a game store manager, pulled out Super Smash Bros Brawl. It was a pretty awesome night.

So now I’ve just been enjoying my new game, though with midterms around the corner, I can’t enjoy it as much as I’d like.

Comments»

1. Mikegb - March 24, 2008

favorited this one, guy


Leave a Reply

