jump to navigation

Overclocked Favorites: SNES Symphonies May 8, 2008

Posted by eric22222 in VG Music.
Tags:
trackback

Overclocked Favorites is a new feature that I started here last week. Every so often I’ll post a few pieces of music from Overclocked Remix that I really like. This week, I’ll be looking at some Super Nintendo pieces that have been given a symphonic makeover:

Simian Symphony Part 1 – Donkey Kong Country 2: Diddy’s Kong Quest, SNES
This is an adventurous piece mixing several different tracks that really feels like three different songs in one. It starts as a march in a minor key, brass-centric with lots of percussion. This carries on until about 1:37; it cuts off for a moment and completely changes gears. It swaps over to a harp melody backed with strings, and keeps things slowly building up until about 3:00. That’s when it hits my favorite part of the song. If I studied music, I might be able to tell you something about the chords, but I don’t, so suffice to say it’s my favorite kind of chord within a scale. At 4:16, it reverts to the original song, though more forceful, and more reliant on low brass.

A Hero’s Legacy – The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past, SNES
A video game’s credits generally has the best music in the game. The credits theme has to be triumphant, celebratory even. You won! The world is at peace! Way to go, hero! This mix stays in a minor key, which at the start feels conquering, as though Link had just landed the final blow. At 0:43, it feels like reflecting over the victory. I really like 1:08, and can’t help but imagining the sun rising over Hyrule right at that moment. I’ve got to say, this is one of my favorite games: excellent level design, compelling story, and, of course, awesome music.

Farewell, Star Guardian – Super Mario RPG: Legend of the Seven Stars
Another credits theme! Super Mario RPG was done by Square, famous for the Final Fantasy series. The music for it was done by Yoko Shimomura, who also did the music for Kingdom Hearts. This one is varied: loads of contrast in instruments, dynamics, and tempo. I like how the song ends where it starts: soft, slow, and a bell solo. It sort of brings things full circle. The sound is very full at times, with several layers on top of each other, but it’s never too much.

View all Overclocked Favorites

Comments»

1. Shaun Kahler - May 9, 2008

Hey! Really like your site! Also, I will admit that I am a huge fan of video game music from the past. Me and my friends spent countless hours in high school and college arranging tunes from FF7, Super Mario, Sonic the Hedgehog, and Legend of Zelda, and so I think this is a cool post haha.

2. Shaun Kahler - May 9, 2008

Also, what did you use to make the site with?

3. eric22222 - May 9, 2008

Hey, glad to find another person interested in that kind of music! Hopefully these three favorites are going to be a weekly thing here, but you can search for remixes by game over at http://ocremix.org if you’re interested in finding specific tunes.

As for the site, I didn’t really make it; it’s a template provided by wordpress.com. They host my blog for free and make it easy to keep up with, so major props to them. If you want to make a similar site, the theme I’m using is called “Regulus.”

Thanks for reading, and I hope to see you around here again!

[EDIT]
Whoa, what? You’re that Shaun? Guess I didn’t catch your last name at the cookout. Man, that caught me off guard. Didn’t recognize your name, searched for it on Google, found the video of you beatboxing while playing piano, the saw a link to your Facebook profile.
“Man, this guy is talented. Hey look, he’s on Facebook. That profile picture looks familiar… Oh. I know him. Cool!”
[/EDIT]

4. Larry “Liontamer” Oji - May 10, 2008

Keep up the good work, Eric, you’re writing some good lengthy comments on the ReMixes. If you haven’t been posting those in the Review threads of the various ReMixes, you really should be! Thanks again for the kind words; looking forward to the next set of reviews.

Larry “Liontamer” Oji
Head Submissions Evaluator, OverClocked ReMix
Creator, VG Frequency
Staff, VGMdb
http://www.ocremix.org
http://www.vgfrequency.com
http://www.vgmdb.net

5. The Matt Luc - May 10, 2008

He seems to be a man of many talents, this Shaun Kahler.

I liked your picks, Eric… But they don’t come close to the awesomeness of “Braving Tal Tal Heights.” That remix was pure awesome.

6. eric22222 - May 10, 2008

Thanks for your support, Larry. I will start posting these reviews or at least an edited version: these seem more like summaries sometimes.

I really appreciate the encouragement. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

