jump to navigation

Of Metroids and Reavers July 23, 2008

Posted by eric22222 in Video Games.
Tags: ,
trackback

Let me tell you about BJ. I’ve worked with him for nearly a year now, and have learned over that time that we operate on a very similar wavelength. Both of us are extreme nerds, specifically in the ways of mathematics and video games. I’ve been to his apartment a few times before, but last Thursday was quite an experience.

I rarely stepped foot in BJ’s room. It’s mostly unorganized boxes, and besides, the video games are in the living room, so there was no reason to head to that side of the apartment. Earlier that week at Chick-Fil-A, I mentioned to BJ an old N64 game called “Space Station Silicon” while we conversed about well-made games of the past. “You know,” he told me, “I’ve probably got it at my apartment. You’re welcome to borrow it when you come over.”

Thursday night, we entered his room to find it. BJ opened his closet to reveal more boxes than the rest of his room had, which was a triumph of geometry, really. He pulled out the first and opened it. The box was filled to the brim with classic Super NES games. BJ went back to the closet to search for another box while I gawked at just how much history was in that box alone. Super Mario World? Chrono Trigger? Earthbound? I was looking at some of the greatest games to come from the 90’s. I peered into the disorganized closet as BJ emerged with another box. There must be more games in here than I’ve ever played, I thought. The floor was littered with Gameboy cartridges, with at least three copies of each Pokemon game.

BJ opened a box full of N64 titles. As he pulled each one from the cardboard box, I was flooded with memories of each game. Level maps, secrets found, and in the case of games I never beat, the last area I could get through. “Holy cow, I loved Mischeif Makers; that game was awesome. Except I could never find the hidden gem in one level…”

We eventually gave up on finding Space Station Silicon, but BJ did lend me Super Metroid for SNES (a must-play, he said) as well as the movie Serenity (which I had heard nothing but good things about). Interestingly, Serenity was directed by the same guy that did Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog.

Anyway, both were freaking amazing.

Super Metroid took out all the things I didn’t like about the original Metroid, while adding plenty of awesome new things, like a plot outside the instruction manual. Boss battles were well designed, and not really impossibly difficult. Every new item felt incredibly useful, and new areas were always surprising. In short, awesome.

Serenity… wow. I understand it was a continuation of the TV series “Firefly,” which I unfortunately have yet to see. However, now I understand the cries of the fans everywhere: “Why was this show cancelled?!” Serenity is now on my list of all time favorite movies, if I kept such a list. I hope to watch the series on DVD someday, at least.

Comments»

1. justanotherjen - July 23, 2008

You really have to find Firefly online somewhere and watch it. It is well worth and makes the movie make so much more sense. And the guy that made them is also the guy that made Buffy the Vampire Slayer (and it’s spinoff, Angel). Firefly, though, is one of my all time favorite shows.

2. zach - July 24, 2008

Super Metroid is one of my favorite games, I even think I owned it at one point.

3. Firefly « Eric Online - December 5, 2008

[…] December 5, 2008 Posted by eric22222 in General. trackback It wasn’t too long ago that I saw Serenity, and deemed it an amazing film. It was a continuation of the cancelled show Firefly, a series I had […]


Leave a Reply

