jump to navigation

Tales from Chick-Fil-A (part 1!) September 25, 2008

Posted by eric22222 in General.
Tags:
trackback

(part 2 of session 47 is up)

And now, a few selections of my adventures at Chick-Fil-A.

I’ve been put on headset much more these past few weeks. I generally prefer this position to the cash-taking one. For one, I don’t have to smile ear-to-ear the whole time. A few minutes of feigning euphoric joy is extremely tough on my jaw. Secondly, I don’t have to count out change. You see, one of two things can happen when a customer pays in cash. If the price is X dollars and just a few cents, the customer doesn’t have a few pennies or one nickel, and I’ll have to count out 94 cents out (94 is actually worse than 99; 44’s pretty bad too). If the price is just short of the dollar mark, say, $6.94, the customer will insist on getting rid of their loose change. And they won’t have it ready at the window, oh no. They have to count it out once you repeat the total to them, just to be sure. What’s that? You expected them to have the change handy already? No, no, they need to find it first. You see, change likes to hide in the nooks and crannies of automobiles, so it’ll take a few minutes while they hunt down penny number fifteen.

So, right. Headset. Another nice thing about headset is that I get a lot of compliments on my voice. I mean, a lot. On average, it’s about once per workday that I’ll be complemented on my speaking voice. In addition, many people tell me I have a good voice for radio. I’d never considered my voice to be quite so nice, but the customers seem to like it, so I guess I’ll keep talking.

And now, some silly events that have occurred at Chick-Fil-A:

  • Over the drive-thru speaker: “I’d like this order to go.”
  • “What’s the difference between the 12-pack nuggets and 8-pack nuggets?”
    “Well… you know… I’m really not sure how to answer that without sounding like a smart alec.”
  • “And would you like anything else today?”
    “Yes.”
    *awkward silence*
    “And what else can we get you today?”
    “That’s all I wanted.”
  • “Good evening and welcome to Chick-Fil-A. How can we serve you tonight?”
    *short pause*
    “Are you guys open?”
  • “Yeah, I want a Dr. Pepper with seven pieces of ice.”
  • “Yeah, I’d like a Whopper and a large Coke.”
    “Sir, we don’t sell Whoppers here; that’s actually Burger King.”
    “Oh.” *pause* “Okay.”
Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

