jump to navigation

Bethel Youth Rally November 23, 2008

Posted by eric22222 in General.
trackback

(Session 56 is up)

A few months back I went to Church Camp at Hillmont. One of my specific counselor duties was to find young men to lead devos during the week. I believe it was a Thursday, maybe Wednesday, that I didn’t have anyone lined up for one of the upcoming devo hours. I only had about an hour to prepare, hardly enough to time to get enough notes together to make a worthwhile lesson. So what did I do? I pulled out my laptop, dug through my files, and found a recording of the sermon I gave while in Malaysia. I used that free hour I had to listen to my sermon and take notes on myself. Kind of unusual, but it worked. I managed to put together a decent lesson just in time.

Okay, so that’s the backstory. The real point of this is what happened shortly afterwards: I was approached by Chris French, the youth minister for the Bethel Church of Christ. He apparently thought I did a pretty good job and wanted me to come down and speak at their Youth Rally in November.

This brings me to yesterday. After spending the preceding week rereorganizing my sermon notes, I drove to middle Tennessee for their area-wide. I ended up giving the sermon three times, to a total of about fifty kids. The day went pretty well, and I even got two sloppy joes out of it. I guess that’s a pretty good deal. After my third time through the lesson, I drove back to Knoxville, arriving at about 9 PM. So, I spent six hours of that day driving, and I get to make the drive again in just a few days when I head home for Thanksgiving…

There’s no real point to this post. The youth conference gave me something to write about. I needed some excuse to update, and this will have to do.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

