jump to navigation

Milkshake PSA December 8, 2009

Posted by eric22222 in General.
trackback

A word of warning to those preparing to enjoy a peppermint chocolate milkshake: due to the relatively high amount of non-ice cream ingredients with this particular milkshake (peppermint syrup, chocolate chips, etc), the peppermint chocolate has the lowest viscosity of any other Chick-Fil-A milkshakes. As a result, it is also one of the most dangerous milkshakes.

The 20-ounce Styrofoam cups used by Chick-Fil-A are effective at holding drinks, as anyone who enjoys their sweet tea can confirm. However, they are still vulnerable to crushing, and can be squeezed to a breaking point if enough pressure is applied. Even before the cup breaks, it can be deformed enough that the lid frees itself from the container, creating a spilling hazard.

This fact, combined with the expected thickness of standard Chick-Fil-A milkshakes, has led to a high number of peppermint-related spills in customers’ vehicles. Effectively, they do not expect the low-viscosity nature of this particular milkshake, and grasp the cup with too much force.

So, potential milkshake connoisseurs, please handle your milkshake with care. If possible, use a second hand when grabbing the cup, applying support to the base of the cup. Avoid gripping the area near the lid.

Comments»

1. stephanie - December 8, 2009

very cute. I, however, do not have a thesis of any sorts on why I support these milkshakes, other than the simple fact that they taste like Christmas. I’ll risk the spillage for that pleasure.

2. db89g23 - July 1, 2011

AMEN!! I have had FOUR of the last FOUR milkshakes totally explode on me. The first the bottom fell right out as I walked through the parking lot. The others all cracked when I tried to get them out of my car’s cup holder. The cups are waaaayyy too flimsy for all that weight.

I even called on time #3, but they acted like I was an idiot and told me I wasn’t supposed to grip near the top.

On their web site they have a story about a lady whose cup did just this (exploded) in the store, so they gave her a new milkshake. She raves about the customer service, but the fact is that their cups are awful. They MUST have several spills a day in the restaurants, no way they don’t. Yet, nothing changes.

I give up. Never wasting my money on them again. It pisses me off because they aren’t cheap. A quick search of the internet and I found SEVERAL people complaining about this, some not realizing it was the darn fault of the cup design.

3. Amy Johnson - September 5, 2013

SO very true of all of their shakes I think! I just had a strawberry shake explode in my hand as I attempted to lower it into my console’s cup holder. The woman in the drive thru window didn’t even seem surprised that it happened. She said they’ll do that if you hold them near the lid or by the lid. They immediately directed me to pull to the side so they could send someone out to clean my car and quickly dispatched an employee with multiple towels. It was as if they had seen this thing a thousand times which begs to question WHY are they still packaging there shakes this way????!!!


Leave a Reply

