jump to navigation

End of Disc One May 10, 2010

Posted by eric22222 in General.
trackback

That may have been the last time I have to go to school. Ever.

Nineteen years of education culminated with one final exam: CS 494, Distributed Systems. This class has been a pain in my side for the entire semester. The project for it was actually very educational: I had to write up a chat program that works on a local network. I taught myself several cool tricks and even got some experience making GUIs in Python and…

Right. Jargon. Sorry.

The exam kept me up all weekend. I reread my notes, the textbook, the works. The midterm was take-home, there were hardly any other graded assignments through the semester, so I had no idea what to expect. One can usually gauge the difficulty of a class based on tests and assignments, but that just doesn’t work when there’s only two graded items in the class.

So, after an evening of coating my textbook in sticky notes, creating humorous mnemonic devices, and otherwise just worrying myself into an early grave, I began the long walk to the classroom. I walked in and waited patiently for the professor. After hours of waiting (maybe it was minutes, my brain is sort of fried), in walks our instructor: a short, balding man bearing a striking similarity to Wayne Knight.

He isn’t carrying any paper. He just grabs a marker, heads to the board, and writes some numbers corresponding to problems in the book.

“Okay, open up your textbooks and do these four problems. I’ll be in my office. Turn ’em in when you’re done, and don’t cheat.”

Then he walked out of the door.

And that was that.

“So now what, Eric?”

I thought you’d ask me that. Well, I start my new job soon. Granted, it’s after a whirlwind of trips to Gallatin, changes of roommates, and a wedding here and there. I’ve already asked those days off at Chick-Fil-A. So, save for these few errands to take care of, I’m going to start on my to-do list. The things I want to do and learn and create and try out.

I have a list of books I want to read, games I want to play, programs I want to learn, stories I want to write, videos I want to record, and experiments I want to run.

And along the way, if you’re lucky, I’ll keep you posted.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

